top of page

She Laughs without Fear of the Future

Hello Ladies!

The last few weeks have been hectic and interesting. There has been more laughter in my house than we have had in a while, and yet I have been through some of the most frustrating situations I have ever had to deal with. Thank God for the people He has given me to vent to, and who don't always tell me what I want to hear. I'm also thankful for a pastor who follows the leading of the Spirit, as he has preached exactly what I needed to hear and just in time.

I have been contemplating many things in an effort to try and figure out how to fix the things I can't understand. Whilst contemplating, I realized something that maybe some of us have never let settle in out minds. Selfishness-a word we don't like to hear, one we never want said concerning us, and one we strive hard to overcome. Unfortunately, human nature typically makes us selfish at one time or another. As Christians, with the help of the Lord, we seem to get past it pretty quickly. But ponder this: What if selfishness is more than you realized? What if the things you hide from others because of insecurity or self doubt make you a selfish person?

Many of us, in an effort to mask our flaws, refuse to take on tasks or challenges because we are scared. In our minds, we justify our actions by telling ourselves, "I'm doing everyone else a favor because I'm just not cut out for this job." What if you are the only one with the right attitude and personality for that job? So what if you don't feel like you are capable! God has put in all of us an incredible ability to learn. You may be the only thing between your churches crumbling Sunday School department, and an incredible bus ministry! Could it be you that your co-worker is waiting to give them a push toward that promotion? Maybe it's even you stopping your spouse from doing what they are called to do because you feel like they may become something greater than you ever see yourself becoming. Maybe you aren't supposed to be the one in the spotlight, but that doesn't mean that you can't play the part of #1 supporter from backstage!

Proverbs 31:25

Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. ESV

Phillipians 4:13

I can do all things through Christ Who strengthens me. KJV

Phillipians 3:14

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. ESV

God's Word does not leave us with any excuses as to why we aren't the ones to pick up the slack where we see it. Too often we allow our fear of failure or insecurities to keep us from things that we see needing to be done. I don't believe that everyone is meant to be an entrepreneur or famous singer. I don't believe everyone can become an author or a famous actress. I do believe thought, that God has asked each of us to see a challenge and take it on. Look at it straight in the face and laugh at the fear, because you have what it takes to get through it. Wake up tomorrow with a fresh determination to take this fight head on and win!

Let's stop today and examine ourselves. Don't look for the selfishness of wanting everything, needing all of the time, or self-absorption. Think about the last time you said something that encouraged someone to go for their dream. Ask yourself why you are holding back from the things you have always wanted. If you feel a nudge, go for it! When you see a need and your first response is "I can't fix that", you are thinking of self first. I'm pretty sure that is selfishness. You may not have the ability yourself, but with the help of God, you can accomplish great things. It may just be a word of encouragement, but where that word takes the individual who hears it could blow your mind. Sometimes we just need to step a little deeper into the waves and quit being content with just a little ocean spray.

I hope someone can pick something out of these jumbled thoughts I have shared. I will leave you with one last passage of scripture that I hope you will take to heart. Just remember, God doesn't expect you to have all the abilities, he just wants a willing heart.

1 Corinthians 1:24-31

But unto them that are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of god, and the wisdom of God. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men. For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many might, not many noble, are called. But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty..... That no flesh should glory in his presence... He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page